another which lathe question??

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xc-mtbr

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
Complete newbie here to round woodworking but keen to get into it. Now looking at my first lathe purchase and need some help. I'm looking at the
Record dml36sh
axminster AWVSL900
these are in my price range but im open to suggestions. I spoke to a pro who teaches and demonstrates etc etc who said not tot to bother and buy an old second hand one as they are better, i know this to be true of various tools such as the old elu stuff but have no knowledge of lathes or what to look for if i did buy an old one (ebay etc)
So i think for ease a new off the shelf might be my better option?
So thats it any help would be amazing and suggestions for £200 - 300 budget.
Kind regards Tony

If I were you I would have a look in the Forsale section of the forum, theres an Axy model up for grabs, I had the perform (Cheaper)smaller cousin of the that one for a couple of years and you could do worse for a starter. Mine did me proud until I'd learnt enough about turning and the finer points about lathes to make a sensible upgrade for me.

I have been turning only for a few months, so not much further along than you.

Initially I wanted to get a Jet 1442 or a record CL3 or if I found one second hand a CL4. In the end I listened to some of the wiser people in this forum and found an Axminster M900 on ebay for £150. It came with 2 chucks, a couple of rings, 2 screw chucks and a few other bits and pieces. It had everything I needed to get started except some tools and some blanks.

It took me a few weeks to find, and I have only just turned my first piece where something more meaty or having it bolted to the floor would have helped.