Air filters/cleaners - FAO GWW Andy King

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RodT

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this so hope that you will be gentle with me. I have the Time Life collection of books which I think are great. In one there are many plans for making dust extractors, and air filters and for the main power they refer to Squirrel Motors.
Obviously this is an American term and I despaired of finding any in the UK until "Good Woodworking" published a similar plan with a telephone number where I could buy them. Unfortunately the number was wrong and although the people on the other end were relatively polite they has received a lot of calls and they were restrained in their response. They thought that a company is Scotland was making or selling them.

Does anyone know what a squirrel motor is, what is the UK equivalent and where can I buy them. Has anyone built any of these?

Thanks

Rod

Modedit on title

Hi Rod,
can't help with squirrel motors I'm afraid, but welcome to the forum.

cheers

George

Hi Rod

Welcome to UKW.

I've edited the title of your thread to attract the attention of one Mr King, GWW's finest.

Ooops. Sorry Steve, Phil, Adam, Ian, Chris and anyone else I might have offended. :wink:

Cheers
Neil

Rod,
Reference is probably to a squirrel cage motor and a simple web definition is :-

"Squirrel cage motors get their name from the appearance of early rotors. They are the most common type of industrial AC electric motor, being rugged and requiring neither a separate DC power source nor slip-rings. They are essentially constant speed devices when energised by a constant frequency AC supply, however electronic speed control is available."

Basically an induction motor in common parlance.