Air compressor and airbrush

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

akirk

Established Member
Reaction score
Yeah that compressor will work, overkill and you'll need to keep the pressure down and regulated.
I have an Iwata Revolution HP-BCR which is very good quality but has a bottom suction feed, yours with a top cup feed is more convenient.

I'm no expert but the secrets are to get the paint consistency right and scrupulous cleaning afterwards, flow improver cvan help the paint then it's just practice, practice, practice.

Airbrush doesn't need much air. I'm sure your Stanley will be up to the job especially if it has a tank to smooth out the pressure.
For any sort of spraying, you do need a moisture separator inline (at the least if you are spraying solvent based paints). These aren't very expensive and you could just put one on a quick release plug and connect it when using the airbrush only if you prefer.

Iwata make all sorts of high quality spray kit. Some of their airbrushes draw hair thin lines, others are better suited to covering a bigger area.
I'd guess childrens toys won't have tiny parts that can be swallowed so your airbrush of choice will need to be able to spray a relatively wide fan pattern in airbrush terms so that you can get a nice even coverage.

The range is all laid out here based on what you need it to do ....
https://www.iwata-airbrush.com/airbrushes.html
I recommend the brand because I use their LPH-80 spraygun which was developed for things like car wing mirrors and it is a very high quality tool. The LPH-80 is too big for your needs but this tiny spraygun was developed from their largest airbrush, not downsized from an existing spraygun. I need only 14psi for mine. I'm sure as Lons says, you'll need to keep the pressure well down for an airbrush.

The compressor will be fine.