Advice on a table saw.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wkerswell

Reaction score
I know there are a fair few threads here on the matter and I have read most of them. Just looking for tailored advice towards my situation. I am pretty new to woodwork and having spent countless hours watch people on YouTube I can see that the table saw seems to be a pretty key tool for the workshop. I was looking to spend around £150-200.

I was looking to get the Clarke CTS10D (£190) table saw from Machine Mart as it seemed be what needed from their demo video. It also seemed nicer than the ones I was looking at for £100-150. After reading through the threads on here I can see a lot of hate for the saw and a lot of love for the Axminster hobby ts200 (£290).

Is the Clarke really that bad and is the Axminster worth the extra £100 bearing in mind it will be used for hobby work use not trade.

Thank you for any advice.
Will

wkerswell":39ilprsi said:
I was looking to get the Clarke CTS10D (£190) table saw from Machine Mart as it seemed be what needed from their demo video. It also seemed nicer than the ones I was looking at for £100-150. After reading through the threads on here I can see a lot of hate for the saw and a lot of love for the Axminster hobby ts200 (£290).

Is the Clarke really that bad and is the Axminster worth the extra £100 bearing in mind it will be used for hobby work use not trade.

One huge difference between the two is noise. The Clarke has a screaming universal motor, whereas the Axi has a nice quiet induction motor. If you value relations with your neighbours and family that could be an important factor. Note that the sound you hear on the video is no way representative of the real noise level of that saw.

In a word yes!