Absolute beginner, looking to refit a sail boat interior

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stevd

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am completely new here, and completely new to the idea of woodwork and this is my first post here; please excuse the essay.

I recently bought a tired old boat which I am slowly bring back up to speed. I have now practically finished all of the mechanical side of the boat (well, it seems to be on-going and never ending) but I am at the stage where I would like to improve cosmetically the interior.

The boat is from 1980, and to be fair the wood work finish is very good and well crafted. The boat I have is renowned for there build quality, but it looks very dated and drab.

I would like to basically reface what is already there. Make some new cupboard doors, new counter tops and a new chart table. I would like to start by refacing things rather than making complete cupboard units. The way it has been put together in the first place is very modular, so I am hoping to be able to replace a small amount at a time. I also really like the idea of personalising the interior even further by perhaps making a few nautical themed inlays or engravings. I saw one youtube video where they cut a surface with a router and in filled the gap with a few different coloured veneers I think. I thought this could be a great way to create a subtle sea wave effect on the cupboard fronts? I would also like to create a compass rose inlay. So all in all I have a heck of a lot to learn!

I do have a few questions to hopefully help point me in the right research direction;