About DC

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Bill has commented in the past about others purloining his work and not paying for it. Helluva first post on the Creek, though

Scrit

ummm. let the s**t hit the fan eh?

TBh, as a pro woodworker, I have *some* doubts about Bills claims. However, what cannot be ignored by anyone is that he and he alone has probably done more to raise the issue of dust removal and the related hazzards then anyone else.

When I was the supervisor for a hospital, we had an air sample done. Now I really cannot remember the details, but the air was preety damn good, That was with an old system 30 years old, but checked every year by P&J.

I personally would not go too over the top. Go for the largest/most suitable system you can but certainly if you work with MDF or exotics a very fine filter would be advisable. Like anything, a sense of rationale should be employed.

mark

i found both views interesting, but what is more interesting
is that bill pentz's work does not seem to make any mention
of the air flow,hence dust flow inside and around the machinery.

i personally think his claim that an amateur breathes more dust
than a pro is a little over the top, if you only work 12-20 hours a
week you cannot have the same exposure as someone working
40 hours a week.

and as for his air flow calculations well i too would love
to know on what they are based. i am absolutely sure that almost
no amateur in the uk could have cyclones the size promoted,
and in most cases as for instance barry burgess has porved,
that is not necessary.

i think the other thing is the yanks use many more machines than
we do, so our dust patterns are not the same. i have searched
the pentz site for proper air flow data, and frankly was disappointed. :evil:

intreguing the reactions to the post were not as totally supportive