1944 Kismet Air Ministry Foot Pump

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
No. I just know that it looks lovely, is 1000% better than the Draper rubbish I've got in the boot, and I want one!

I'm no aeronautical engineer (wish I was sometimes!), but I can't think of much that would be pneumatic on a 1940s aircraft. Except the tyres, naturally. I wouldn't fancy trying to pump one of these up though :shock:

0Testing_the_tyre_pressure_of_Avro_Lancaster_R5540_of_No_44_Squadron_Conversion_Flight_at_Waddington,_Lincolnshire.jpg

Generally I think the subsystems were either electric or hydraulic, but I'm very happy to be corrected on that.

In any case, I second Andy T's comments that it looks far better made than a modern pump. Which reminds me, I still need to fix the hose on my almost-new Draper :roll:

I have managed to confirm it was specifically ground maintain for Spitfires and hurricanes that these were used for, so there must be some pneumatics somewhere in those... maybe the landing gear?

DTR":27as5sdz said:
In any case, I second Andy T's comments that it looks far better made than a modern pump. Which reminds me, I still need to fix the hose on my almost-new Draper :roll:
Darn hoses.... Halfords is still the only place I have found to source plain hoses for pumps. They are not terrible, but not great either (so short :? ), defiantly on the look out for a source of quality hose and connectors for these.

If you want one for practical purposes Andy I'd recommend a smaller Kismet model (such as the aptly named "Baby" below) or a Sutty (on of the few to have an in-built pressure gauge). As the Kismet Master is a bit overkill for most day to day tasks (Its a lump of a thing!) :)

Kismet Baby by Rhyolith, on Flickr