Tyme Cub Lathe Beginner

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Angell 62

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello guys.

My darling other half bought me a second hand Cub lathe as a Birthday present and I have been using it for about 2 months. It only has a 2 prong drive chuck and a dead centre tailstock (I have now purchased a live centre).

For her investment however all she gets to see are what I am affectionately calling WOTSITS. Free standing spindles with various inlays, groves, hollows etc out of Pear wood (which by the way has a beautiful colour). Obviously we all start somewhere so I would like to move onto maybe hollowing out one of these Wotsits into a goblet or egg cup or try my hand at a bowl instead of making the prettiest morning sticks for a log burner you ever did see hahaha.

So my question is two fold.

1) Are there any projects I can make with what I have (Drive Chuch and Live centre tailstock)
2) What chuck do i need to purchase to start making simple bowls, goblets and egg cups. Now I have researched a small amount and I know the Cub has an odd out dated thread size (Im not telling the misses because she was so pleased with herself getting it me as a suprise and I love it!!!).

Any help would be appreciated. I will post a pic of one of my Wotsits soon haha

John

The two cheapest modern chucks that fit, the Axi Evo SK114 or the Record SC4. Both chucks have changeable threaded inserts. I bought the record with the insert to suit the cub M20x2 Thread and have just changed lathe but kept the chuck and just got another insert to suit my new lathe.

Great little Lathe

Big-Bowl.jpg

2015-08-13%2021.33.43.jpg

I used to have a Tyme Avon and would recommend you consider a versachuck from the toolpost at Didcot. Backplates are available that can be interchanged if you ever upgrade your lathe. regards roy wathen

Bigbud78":flavpi60 said: