Saw Bench

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr Ed

Established Member
Reaction score
I've just completed this saw bench. Its entirely based on the age old English form, although ironically it was an article by an American that inspired me to make it.

4316608410_7b6221f930.jpg

The article is here if you wish to follow it; http://popularwoodworking.com/article/t ... _sawbench/

I like to think that every project is a learning experience and this was no exception;

1. I have never used drawboring before, but I now see it is a highly effective technique.
2. I don't agree with the current fashion for making benches out of softwood, as this stuff dents so easily I don't think its suitable.
3. This would be an excellent primer project for someone who is thinking of building a bench soon.
4. Apparently I can use nearly every tool in the shop, even to make something as simple as this.
5. I can't be doing with imperial measurements, so have to convert everything.

I'm not yet sure how useful this will be in my ongoing projects, but Mr. Schwartz seems to think its essential so I'll try it and see.

Ed

And I bet it doesn't have a label on it that says "do not stand on this bench"!!!

Excellent job there Ed and a great project to start a workshop.

Oh to have the space!!!

:D

Jim

jimi43":1gljnhug said:
And I bet it doesn't have a label on it that says "do not stand on this bench"!!!

I think I can safely say you could stand an elephant on this bench - the construction is substantial. I think it may prove handy for sitting or standing on, its certainly strong enough.

Ed

Nice one Ed - looks really useful. I might have a look in the 'shop and see if i've got room to store one.

Cheers

Karl