Water based finishes, the most incognito...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dokkodo

Established Member
Reaction score
I am building some kitchen units which are clad with reclaimed pine boards, as per clients request. They are nice boards, with one aged side which has gone quite dark which will be the faces. However, the tricky thing is the finish. They need sealing, theyll soak up oily cooking hand prints like mad otherwise, but obviously oil has a very darkening effect on them. Im wondering if anyone knows of a clever water based finish that will have little effect or perhaps evening be slightly lightening. Im no finishing expert, and have almost only used oil based finishes so far, apart from a PU finish on a unit for my camper van which was very durable but a bit plasticky.

I just spent a while trying to find a product mentioned on a thread here, barfords aquacote, but I couldnt find it and upon inspection the thread was over 10 years old so maybe its no longer a thing.

There's an Osmo finish called Osmo Raw Transparent, the product number is 3044. It's basically regular Osmo PolyX but with a small amount of a whitening agent that counteracts the yellowing/darkening effect of the oil. You get all the protection benefits of PolyX plus the ease of application but without the colour change.

I've used it on a wide range of hardwoods and it pretty much does what it says on the tin. But two things you need to know. Firstly, I've never used it on softwoods so I can't comment on the result. Secondly, given enough time and enough daylight no finish will protect against wood changing colour, all you're really doing is buying yourself some time.