Charnwood W852 Planer/Thicknesser setup

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scottdimelow

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I've recently bought the above used. It's just a generic chinese model. It seemed great to start with, just had a quick pass over the planer. I've never used one before.

As I've tried to true everything up a slight problem has appeared. I set the blades parallel to the thicknesser bed, but there's no way of adjusting the infeed wing of the planer.

Is it a major issue if it takes a slightly uneven cut when planing? It's probably .5mm over 250mm.

It can be a problem if you have to take many passes. I'd prefer my machine to be better than 20 thou over its bed, which is what you are talking about.

When you set the knives true to the thicknessing bed, are they also true to the outfeed table? If so, then you have to find a way to true the infeed table, which may well mean dismantling it and getting a file out on mating surfaces. I've only done it once, on the outfeed table, and I had an engineer friend to help me. It was well worth the effort.

The outfeed table is adjustable in every direction so that's not a problem. I think I'll have to do as you say and tinker with it, either shim or remove some material.
I suppose the fact the beds are aluminium may make it easier.

It's annoying when something is sold with no way of setting it up correctly, it should really have the same adjustment as the outfeed.

I've got a day off tomorrow so I think I've found a job to do :) I'll get the files out!

At risk of being pedantic, check the drum itself is parallel to the thicknesser bed before you start otherwise you'll drive yourself crazy. Then check it against the outfeed table.

If that's sound, you only have to get the knives parallel and the right projection with respect to the outfeed to have the thicknesser right too.