what beginners lathe?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joekid

Established Member
Reaction score
hello ,im new to wood turning ,in fact ive not got my lathe yet/ can anybody give advice on choice £200 budget,its not much in todays quality tool price range but has anyone had to make do with a budget lathe to start /any other reason, and thought this isnt a bad piece of kit? this is the sort of thing i want to hear about ,not sales patter, thanks

Welcome to the forum, Joe. I'm betting the Perform lathes from Axminster are going to get a vote or two; I'd certainly go that route if I was starting again. Actually, even though I'm not starting again, I've gone for a Perform as a small secondary lathe and I'm impressed. Better wait and see what the experts say though. :)

Cheers, Alf

Hi there - yes,for £200,the Perform range would certainly get my vote.
Started off with the Clarke 20" lathe from Machine Mart:-
Picture038Small.jpg

which was about £70 - had fun with it for about a year or so,then (due to an unexpected bonus at work) upgraded to the Perform CCBL:-
Picture064Small.jpg

which was about £200.
No belt/pulleys to alter to change speed - so I change speeds more often :D
No spanner needed to move tailstock/toolrests - so I move them more often :D

Bear in mind other costs,though:-
Chisels - my first HSS chisels were the five-piece set behind the headstock - £50
Chuck - although I made lots of things on the small lathe between centres,or using a faceplate or screwchuck,having a chuck now makes workholding easier - Clubman K10 currently on offer for just under £100

So,for what it's worth,that would be my recommendation for a lathe in your budget - has the capacity and capability to be added onto as and when you can afford it (assuming you get addicted :lol: )

Good luck,and let us know what you decide to go for.

Andrew