Upping my sanding game

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodypk

Established Member
Reaction score
As the title suggests, I’ve decided It’s time for upping my sanding game to a more professional level now that I’ll be using the tools daily.

I’m currently using a cheapish Makita BO5031 125mm orbit and have been teaming it with cheapo discs from tool station and Amazon.

The discs seem to last about 4 orbits until they need changing and although I’ve never used a high end sander before, I feel there’s definitely an upgrade to be had with a more ergonomic, less bulky(tall) sander which would suit me much better.

My question is that after some research, I’m torn between the Mirka Deros with a move to the Abranet discs and the Festool ETS EC 150/3. But which one…

Additional, as I’ve hear so many good things about the Abranet discs, again which I’ve never used before, I’d like to know if these can these be used on the festool sanders without modification or extra parts needed? I’m really interested in using these discs as my research leads me to believe that they’re brilliant when it comes to dust control. I’m even thinking about buying the Mirka hand sanding kit which can be hooked up to a vac for the last pass I usually give by hand when doing my final quality control. Has anyone used those before?

Finally, I believe the Mirka has a 27mm fitting for DC. Am I right in saying I should have no issue with connecting this to my CT26?

Thanks all.

I cant really help with which sander to go with but I can say that sanding mesh is totally the way to go, I find it lasts several times longer and doesn't tear like sandpaper does, when it's worn out it simply becomes less effective, almost like as it degrades it chages from say 240g to 320g to 400g etc