Newbie wants to build a coffee table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lunk

Reaction score
Hi All,

First post, so be gentle :)

After months of hunting, I’ve finally found a coffee table I like – but I’m not impressed with the quality or the price. It’s a fairly simple design so I’ve decided to try and make it myself! The problem is that I have no training, no experience and no tools! All I have right now is a design, some motivation and a brand new copy of the Collins Complete Woodworker’s Manual. I’m hoping that with your guidance I can do this - and potentially pick up a new hobby.

Here’s a pic of the original item:

http://www.diabehbehani.com/natuzzi/img/baster.jpg

It’s not at all heavy. The table top is hollow and veneered. The legs are made of tin. My version will be all wood and considerably heavier. As with the original, I want the legs to look different from the top, so I’ll either pick different wood, a different stain, a different finish (polish vs. matt) or a combination. Perhaps I’ll even paint the legs. Not sure yet. What I do know is that I want at least the table top to be very dark with a straight, subtle grain, like this:

http://www.trayler.com/gifs/Ebonized-Walnut_web.jpg

As mentioned, I don’t have any tools yet. If the coffee table goes well, I’d like to move on to a simple book case and then possibly a dining table. I want to stick to simple, yet striking items that can be produced relatively quickly, but quality will be my primary focus. So at least for the first few pieces, I intend to stick to straight lines. No curves, bending or carving or anything like that. Basically, if it can be achieved mostly with common power tools (e.g. saw, router) then it’s in scope. Chairs (with curved backs), for example, are definitely out of scope for the time being.