HELP......what is my lathe about.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tobytools

Established Member
Reaction score
hi, i habe this lathe that i got for £5, i know its a model makers lathe (metal) but i thought some one whould be able to enlighten me as to age, value, purpose and any info thank for taking the time to read this any help is a help as im not lathe master, i only want think think to make chisel handles ect as its so small, ect ect. tobytools

also what bits am i missing if any, names of bit ect as im a noob, cheers

Attachments

• 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    48.4 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    42.1 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    35.7 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    50.9 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    36.4 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    38.1 KB · Views: 1,307
  • 8.jpg
    8.jpg
    31.4 KB · Views: 1,307
I'm not a lathe expert either but I know enough to spot a bargain!

For the price of a sandwich (or two, depending where you shop) you've got an old and probably solid small metalworking lathe. It would have originally been driven by a flat belt on one of the three flat pulleys, either from workshop shafting or maybe a treadle. Someone has ingeniously adapted it with the welded up frame so that you can mount the electric motor, use a v-belt to drive a selected pulley and then a flat belt onto the lathe. Result= lots of choice of speeds.

In metalworking the cutting tool is bolted onto a tool rest, which in your case can be made to move sideways automatically by the threaded rod. The speed of this traverse is controlled by swapping over the loose cogs, enabling you to cut threads. For woodworking you don't bolt the cutter down, you have a handle on it and hold it in your hand. You probably need to make a simple tool rest to do this.