Hello newbie here, timber frame log store project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RossJarvis

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello there, this is my first post.

I have just started working on a project to make a log store for my neighbour, based on a design I made a few years ago, which is loosely based on traditional timber framing techniques. I have tried to post some pictures but can't get the image thingy to work :( , maybe it's because I've not made enough posts?

Anyone interested in watching my progress? Any one know how I can post a picture without linking through to Photobucket?

cheers :D

Ross

Thanks CHJ :D Thanks for the encouragement Richard :D

This is the log store I made a few years ago;

_DSC2724copy.jpg
Now trying the picture thingy

_DSC2725copy.jpg

I think these should be all the tools I'll need, though see note below :roll: ;

tools.jpg

I'm going to see if I can do it without tape measures or such like, but I will be using a bench mortiser as I've not got the will to chop 32 mortises by hand (plus I completely knackered my only proper mortice chisel :cry:)

This is my plan mainly to help remember which joint to put where, it's a bit of a bodge as I am simplifying it from a jowl post design, if anyone can see any obvious problems, please chirp in;

plans2small.jpg

I made a cutting list (well two actually, one metric for the woodyard and one in proper measurements for me) and popped to the local hardware shop, where I cut all the lengths I needed and bunged them into the neighbour's hatchback (ooh we can't cut that sir and we can't deliver till at least Wednesday!), So I now have one flat packed log store in the back garden. What you see is 150 quids worth of "high quality?" wet, knotty, pressure treated slightly twisted deal? spruce? pine? fir?;

flatpack.jpg