Workshop quotes

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob_H

Established Member
Reaction score
I've had a number of quotes for my new workshop which is to built out of timber with a fibre cement roof - mainly from stable companies. To build a workshop 43' x 17' the average is around £13,000 - £14,000 (without concrete base - seperate quotes). I haven't got the time/skills to build myself but do those prices sound reasonable?- I want a decent quality one - insulated and boarded out - not just a large shed. Any advice appreciated.

Bearing in mind that I have no experience of either building or having built a workshop FWIW:

First look thought a bit expensive £13-14k. Then realised the size approx 731 sq ft - therefore at top price = £20 per sq ft.

So like BB (who has built his own!) would think that quite reasonable particularly if insulated and boarded out as your requirements. Think I would want to ask for the concrete base to be thrown in to seal the deal :)

Cheers :D
Tony

Sadly not - that's another £3,000 to £4,000 depending on whichbuilder - they won't do bases

Get a copy of the Farmers Weekly. You might find a better value solution from among their advertisers.

Ike

My 6m x 5 m (wooden from stables type companies) workshop was 9000€ to be built (with 4 double glazed windows and a double door entry, 5000€ for the roof (thick insulation and real roof tiles) 3000€ for the concrete floor (including a large crane type concrete pump to bring it over the house to the bottom of the garden). Then another 3000€ for the wiring and lighting and connection to the house (some 30 meters away) 16A and normal rings.

These are Dutch prices and 4 years old but will give you an idea.