Wood recommendations

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Colarris

Established Member
Reaction score
As Im just starting out I've been kind of taught to use pine due to its cheapness and softness. Trouble is I've found it far too soft for things like dovetailing etc and I just wondered if someone could tell me of a wood that is as cheap as pine but a little tougher. I guess Im talking about hardwood now.

Ah, the mythical species of wood that is easy to work AND cheap! Good luck!

But for a more serious answer, especially when you are just practising, do what you can to get hold of offcuts (from joinery firms and timber merchants) or chucked out old furniture (skips, charity shops, freecycle). Also try your local wood recycling scheme.

I'd second the recommendation for tulipwood - also sold as poplar.

But the question about pine prompts the question: what kind of pine? If it's the stuff sold as 'pine' in the sheds like B&Q it usually isn't pine but spruce or fir and is of famously-low quality. Proper pines - typically sold as redwood (scots or scandinavian pine) - or southern yellow pine are much better (although a bit more expensive).

Ash is good, although I'd question the word 'really' attached to 'cheap' :). Beech and oak aren't too bad, pricewise. The Americans, who are spoilt rotten when it comes to wood, have cherry and walnut - great woods, especially for handtools - but they're frightfully expensive over here. Historically, mahogany was the top choice for beauty, finish and workability - so much so that there's virtually none left now.