Which 3d printer - 2023 edition

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fezman

Established Member
Reaction score
Currently considering which 3d printer to buy. There are a few new printers around since similar older threads were created.

What would people recommend ? Budget up to £750

Does anyone have experience of the Bambu Lab P1P? That is what is currently catching my eye.

Good question. It looks as though the Bambu printers have been well received; though there are concerns about the closed source nature (vs Prusa's open source model, and the wide availability of parts for printers such as Creality's Ender line).

I've been running an Ender 3 V2 for a few years, which I've upgraded with a BLTouch and magnetic spring sheet (both of which I'd highly recommend). The newer Ender 3 V2 NEO looks to basically be that straight out of the box.

Creality have an Ender 3 S1; which has a direct drive extruder instead of the Bowden system used by the V2. It's not necessarily better in every way - but if you wanted to print flexible materials (TPU) then it would be a good idea.

Realistically, these printers will do 60mm/s printing and about 800mm/s^2 acceleration as standard. If you add the Creality Sonic Pad (to give the printer Klipper firmware) you can push them further; mostly in the acceleration rates. I find the printing speed is usually limited by the flow rate on the extruder.

Cost of these options (even with the Sonic Pad) will be well under your budget.

Creality also have a new "Bambu like" printer in the K1. It's cheaper than the Bambu printers, but I get the gist that it's maybe a bit immature in design.

The new Prusa MK4 is a bed slinger (like the Ender 3 models), but will be able to print faster. It is however (IMHO) pretty expensive for what it is (with some of the competition on the market now).