Sketchup wood textures

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ross K

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm a newbie on here so sorry if this has been covered before.

I'm a funriture maker and have recently discovered Sketchup whch I find a great tool for design and especially presenting ideas to customers.

However I find the standard package of wood textures included in the software a bit thin on the gound. Are there others available for download or adding in to the software (not sure of the geek terms for such things!)?

THanks for any advice.

Hi Ross, and welcome,

If you got to the Help tab at the top and click on Help centre, in there click on downloads at the left of the page the click on bonus packs, Bob's yer uncle

You can also easily make your own either from images you've made or found images. There are a couple of things to be aware of however.

First, you don't want huge images for this. The file size of applied texture images is added to the file size of your model. Remember, too, that if you 'try on' materials in your model and don't actually use them, you should purge the unused ones. Otherwise they add to the file size.

The other thing to consider is that in many cases highly figured grains don't work very well. The image is obviously finite in size so at some point it is likely that the image will be repeated. It's easy to end up with surfaces that look like they've been tiled with the same piece of veneer. In my opinion, this looks worse than just using various browns and tans to represent wood.

I've just used pictures of wood grain that I've found on the web and saved the picture to my hard drive. There is a custom texture thing in the materials window where you can browse for a picture to use.