Shaper Origin owners?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

COWS

Established Member
Reaction score
Just seen this section up and glad to see there's quite a few members with CNC machines.

I use a Shaper Origin with my workflow. I use it for cutting templates, (table legs, drawer fronts etc), decorative inlays, dovetails and engraving etc etc. It's a great bit of kit.

I've been using Sketchup since 2015 but find it a bit of a pain needing to convert files to SVG with Ai in order to upload onto Shaper, so considering swapping to Fusion 360.

Anyone else here with one? What do you use it for? And what's your workflow?

I don`t have one but I do want one. I just like the idea of being able to put designs on things too big to fit in the regular CNC machine.
Fusion 360 is very good software and I much prefer it to sketchup once I got used to it.

Do you need to load everything onto the shaper directly as vectors ?
Are you converting your 3d designs into 2d files then into vectors prior to entering them into the shaper?
Could it accept files in direct gcode so you could output the designs from Vectrics post processor or something like carbide create ?

Trying to understand the workflow as it seems quite different to what I am used to, I either use the cam in Fusion 360 or Vcarve pro to generate the gcode then just put the material on the machine probe the Z height then hit the go button.

I like vector magic for making non vector pictures ( jpg, png etc )into svg files

Ollie

Hi @Ollie78

With the shaper being 'hands on, its more time consuming than a traditional 'set and forget' cnc. But for me it's more versatile. I cut my dovetails with it and can inlay designs into otherwise finished pieces etc. Space was another factor which made me go with the Shaper. And you're not limited to a small bed if you have a desktop machine.