Second hand lathe advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaulH

Established Member
Reaction score
I’ve been looking out for a second hand lathe and have come across many which are located in GB mainland. However, being from Northern Ireland, the postage rates are often prohibitive.

Basically I’m looking for a something suitable for an absolute beginner to give turning a go. There’s a second hand Record Power DML-36SH available at the moment not far me. It’s about 5-6 years old and apparently in good condition. It also comes with the leg stand for the Record Power lathes.

Three specific queries:

1) I am aware that many on this Forum would no longer recommend Record Power as a manufacturer. However, would this be a suitable lathe for a beginner? (I anticipate the lathe will be mainly used for small bowls and spindle turning, but then who can anticipate the future!)

2) What would be a reasonable price to expect to pay for this particular lathe?

3) What should I look for when I go to look at it to ensure it really is in “good condition”?

Thanks as always,
Paul.

Hello Paul.
I would look at the Perform lathes from Axminster.
I had a Record lathe,didn't enjoy my turning using it than i bought the Perform CCBL and it as made all the difference.Well pleased with it.
You can always come over to the woodturning forum :wink:
Paul.J.

PaulJ,

If I was buying new, I would definitely consider the Perform CCBL but the Record is available for £80. My thinking (perhaps flawed!) was that I could use this to try out turing, then sell it when my skills developed beyond its capabilities (without too much depreciation) and buy a "better" one. Thus my thinking was that this was a "low cost" option to "try out" turning.

What were the problems with the Record lathe you had? Were they worth the extra £120 that the CCBL would cost me?

Thanks,
Paul.

PaulH.