Refund of Bank Charges

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slim

Established Member
Reaction score
Guess what fell onto my doormat this morning....

A CHEQUE FOR £2500!

For the past couple of months I have been suing my bank for the last 6 years worth of bank charges.

For 3 years of that I was a poor student. The bank hit me hard with charges for bounced direct debits, unauthorized overdrafts and letters.

You may or may not have seen all the fuss recently on bank charges, (it has been featured on GMTV and Radio 4's Moneybox). Basically bank charges are illegal. They contravene the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations within contract law.

I originally saw this on GMTV when I was off work sick one day. It occurred to me that I must have a lot of charges which I could claim back. They mentioned a forum set up by a law student who was the first to do this. The forum is brilliant. They offer free advice and support and have a library of all the letters you need to send to the bank.

2 months, 3 letters and 1 online court claim later and I am now £2500 richer.

It applies to anything that can be described as a penalty charge. Credit cards, store cards, bank accounts, mortgages, loans etc...

I don't want to go into too much detail or post a link to the forum without the mods permission.

MODS: maybe you could let me know if this is ok?

I am just so exstatic that I want to let people know about it so they can do the same.

ps I have no affiliation to the forum mentioned

Sure, why not post a link, and well done on getting the money back. I'm sure its directly relevant to any members who are running woodwork businesses, and also to a wider membership.

As an aside (and not directed to you in any way) As topics like this (money politics etc) quickly turn into rants, please everyone, keep it on the straight and narrow!

Adam

Great.