MT1 or MT2? Al-Ko Kober HDM 850

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Agent_zed

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to woodturning and I have a Al-Ko Kober HDM 850 lathe.

It appears as though the headstock has a tapered female hole and i am assuming this would be a morse taper fitting. The problem is I've measured the hole at the entrance and it is 15mm. When I look up morse taper sizing it says mt1 is ~13mm and mt2 is ~18mm.

So is it more likely that it is an MT1 or MT2?

This page gives me a lot of useful info about my lathe in general Hobbymat Variant MD120/150, Al-Ko Kober HDM850 & Farmer Woodturning lathese but doesn't answer this question.

Any thoughts appreciated.

The LARGE end of a MT1 is 0.475" = 12.065mm, small end 0.369" = 9.37mm so quite obviously would not 'seat' in a socket with a large end diameter of 15mm.

MT2 has a large end diameter of 0.7" = 17.78mm, small end 0.572" = 14.53mm - again hardly likely to fit a hole 15mm diameter. So I suspect that the socket is not Morse Taper.

It MAY be a Brown & Sharpe #6 which has a large end of 0.5996" (15mm is 0.5905" ) and a small end of 0.5" = 12.7mm over a length of 2.38" = 60.45mm which is the closest 'standard' that I can see, but (less likely) it might be a Jacobs #2 LE 0.559"-14.2mm - SE 0.4876"-12.38mm.

I think J-G is right. If you look at the photos, there is clearly a drive for the headstock comprising a screw fitting with a couple of different points to insert.

Based on this, if you can get a chuck that fits the thread, you need to get something like a Steb-centre that is designed to be held in the chuck.

I assume the tailstock has a Morse taper!

Phil