Metal lathe - how to get a good finish?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Monkey Mark

Established Member
Reaction score
I can't seem to get a nice finish on mild steel and wondered if anyone could give any advice? I've had a look round the net but everything I've come across assumes you have a reasonable amount of experience but I'm completely new to this and learning as i go. The only bit that i could understand was to have a high speed.

I have both hss and carbide cutters. I've tried running it at 1800rpm both with auto feed and manually feeding very slow and steady. I always end up with a pretty rough finish, certainly not what I'd be happy with.

Any pointers please?

What shape is the tip of your cutting tool? If it's an acute angle, try sharpening a very slight radius on it.

Also do you know the grade of the steel? Certain grades machine better than others; I try to use EN1A wherever possible, or failing that EN3B.

Forgot to ask, what diameter is the steel? 1800 rpm is probably a bit fast, try slowing it down

Do you know what grade of steel you are using, plain mild steel does not turn well compared to a more suitable type of free machining steel.

I am sure other people will be experts in steel types and advise accordingly.

Mild steel can have a rough finish that appears like tear out you would get with a wood plane, it is possible to overcome this but it is easier to get better steel to start with.

Mark