Metabo KGS216M first use and mini-review

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aggrajag

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

As discussed on here previously I recently bought the Metabo KGS216M on Amazon Prime Day but I've only had chance to try it out for an hour as I've been on holiday.

Some discussion was also made here bought-a-sliding-compound-mitre-saw-t99007.html regarding blades but as it was someone else's thread I didn't want to continue there.

Mini-review
I've never used a saw like this before, or anything mitre-like, so as a complete amateur to this sort of device I had a nightmare following the woeful instruction manual and it took me an age to discover there was a transport lock which was preventing me from lifting the saw. It's obvious when you know what it's for, not so easy when you've never seen one before. Attaching the side plates and the clamp were pretty simple with a bit of common sense.

So on Sunday I dug out a few planks of pallet wood and set to testing blade alignment out in the garden, using the small dust bag for collection, along with face mask, goggles and ear defenders.

I accept that I should probably have been conducting my tests on wood that had been planed and thicknessed, as minor variances in the wood straightness will have altered my tests somewhat, but I did choose the best pieces I had to hand from a selection of dozens.

I was initially cutting a standard 0 degree cross cut then turning the offcut upside down and holding them together and checking the resultant product was still perfectly level, and then doing the same with joining 2 x 45 degree bevel cuts together to check it's perfectly 90 degrees using a proper carpenters square.