Metabo bas260. Blade off when reversed and bearing issue

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lard

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a newbie here and to bandsaws. I've bought a supposed new machine and although I have tracked it by hand and all seems ok including running it electrically the blade will not stay on the wheels if it is hand-turned backwards (only a 1/3 of a wheel turn).....you may be thinking why turn it backwards? But machine often turns itself slightly backwards (when power off and running freely) and hey presto...BANG!!.....before you reply consider this:-
1. Surely if upper and lower wheels are tracked I should be able to hand turn backwards AND forwards with no issue anyway.
2. My machine WILL turn itself backwards on its own every now and then when power is shut down/switched off as it seems to be adjusting itself through freewheeling.

Also, when front looking at both upper and lower rear wheeled bearings (from the perspective of a clock face) the lower bearings have the blade positioned at something akin to 7 and 11 o'clock ......the upper is more like 12 and 6 o'clock and so stops the blade when any pressure is applied through cutting as the bearing cannot turn in this position. There is no sideways adjustment on the upper rear bearing ?????

Have I bought a dud?

Any thoughts would be most welcomed.
Ta

Dq

There are several users of this saw on the forum but this sounds as if all the pics you can put on here will be a good idea for some one to solve you're problem.
Has the top wheel mounting slipped out of line during transport? I suggest NOT using the saw until the problem is resolved.
Something is badly out of sync here. Rodders