lathe upgrade

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delyn46

Reaction score
Hello Folks
New to the site. I have been turning now for about 5 years using a Perform ccl. The lathe is showing signs of wear and tear ( or abuse )so I would like to upgrade to a new one. Like many turners I am retired and have a limited budget. Can anyone recommend / suggest a replacement.
I have looked at Fox, Record, Axminster and Jet but feel more confused than ever. My other problem is that my lathe has to be transported up a flight of steps, through my home and up another 4 steps to my shed. My husband and I are getting a bit old for lugging 80kg of metal.

Welcome to the forum delyn46,
Your request is a bit like 'how long is a piece of string' but if you can give us an indication of your preferred turning style and a rough budget it would help with the pointers folks might be able to give.

Not an easy task for a newbie to the forum to get involved in (hosting and posting that is) but do you have any pictures of your work so far to give an indication of your needs.

Edit: One other point, what chuck/s do you use and will you be trying to reuse with your new purchase, (spindle thread sizes availability of adaptors etc.)

I try ( note " try ") to turn bowls and boxs but usually make a lot of chippings for my friends chicken house. My budget is £400 - £800.As well as limited budget I have very limited space (I understand that this is normal for all woodworkers!) but mine is really limited and I doubt I will be able to build a new shed to meet my prefered needs.
I use a Record R 4000 chuck. And yes I hope to be able to use my attachments.

Hello and welcome Delyn46 :D
Would any of
these be any good.
Recently just upgraded myself to an Hegner,which i would really recommend.
Where about are you.You might get some help installing your new toy,i mean lathe :lol:

Paul.J.