Finding or building a workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Expensive sawdust

(What I mostly make)
Reaction score
After several years happily filling my own house with sawdust, I find myself with a lot of time on my hands, a reasonable hoard of tools and machines, and nowhere to use them. Ideally I'd like to make a bit of money making stuff - garden furniture for now, I've no cabinetry drills or experience - but without a working space, I and my gear are both mostly growing cobwebs. Commercial industrial units are far too big and expensive (I reckon 300 sq ft would be plenty),.. I've got nowhere I could build a large shed, and there's no available garage space of suchlike. I'm out in the country btw. I'd quite like to build a structure myself*, so I was thinking an ideal site would be a small, derelict agricultural building with vehicle access and a power supply that I could demolish and rebuild as what I want (pre-existing to avoid planning hassles.)

I've got a bit of budget, could probably go up to £10k for a plot. Am I building castles in the air? Should I look to move somewhere with garage/shed options? Or look for another hobby / source of income?

Any ideas? Anyone else got an unconventional workshop, ie., not a domestic garage or garden shed?

* in no way to have an excuse to buy a framing nailer. Noooo, oh no,.. (yes)