edge routing small pieces

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woof

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
Having a nightmare with the simplest of things - trying to put a roundover edge on small pieces of wood (12cm x 7.5cm; 15cmx 15cm) and it keeps catching. Router is in a table, I have turned down the router speed as the cutter diameter is 38mm, bearing guided, but wonder if I really should have it closer up to full speed - the problem is the wood keeps catching when I get to the final pass ruining my hard efforts!
In addition, to do stopped dados in these sizes, do I have to make a dummy jig? I really must find a routing course to go on, since its the one bit of equipment that gives me the willies.
Thanks in advance
Mark

Hi mark, I'm no expert, but Norm uses a wide piece of timber and rounds over both edges and then cuts them to size on the table saw, much safer that way.
regards,
Rich.

I'm not explaining at all well. Looking to round over 3 of the 4 sides for the smallest pieces, and roundover all four sides for the square 15cm square. Trying to build a toilet roll holder with square backplate, then two arms out to hold the pin/dowel. Simpler than this
Toiletrollholder001.jpg

but hopefully gives you an idea.

You could temporarily attach it to a larger piece of MDF or whatever. Then, you are holding onto a more manageable piece, and keeping your fingers away from the cutter. Hot melt glue or double-sided tape come to mind as a way to attach it. Or you could even use screws, through the "holder" piece, and into the back of the smaller pieces.