Drilling End Grain

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mgr9999

Reaction score
Hi everyone
I am new to wood working and am after some help if possible.

Using my new lathe I have turned some nice bits of mahogany recently. I am trying to make three cylindrical candle holders that will be used to hold tealight candles in the top. Each candle is to be countersunk into the top of the cylinder of mahogany.

I have turned the cylinders of mahogany no problem. However the trouble comes when trying to make the hole to take the tealight candle, which is a depth of approx 15mm and diameter of approx 40mm.

Please could someone tell me the best way to do this - should I try to use some form of hole cutting drill bit, even though it is end grain, or should I try to somehow bore the hole using a chisel on the lather? Or perhaps some other method that I haven't even thought of.

If anyone has any suggestions I would be very grateful.

Many thanks.

Michael

Hi Michael, welcome to the forum.

I use a parting tool to hollow out for tealights. I suppose you could try chucking up a forstner bit or spade bit in the tailstock, but I am unsure as to how clean the hole would be.

Many thanks Simon, I will give that a try. What would be the best way to hold it on the lathe, bearing in mind that the largest candle holder is about 150mm length and 100mm diameter. Should I use the chuck that allows me to screw the piece to the headstock? I would imagine this would be quite unstable when it gets going. I suppose I could steady it with the pointy bit at the other end (apologies for technical language!) or is there a better way?

Many thanks for your help it is much appreciated.