Circular Saw/Blade Advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grawschbags

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a mere novice/hobbyist at this woodworking lark, and as such I'm buying tools on a project by project basis. Please be gentle...

My current purchase is that of a circular saw. I have recently purchased the Bosch PKS 18v circular saw, and after unboxing, I find myself underwhelmed. I immediately started looking for better/finer cutting blades, but hit a snag when searching for 150mm blades. This doesn't seem to be a very common size.

My question is, what circular saw blade diameter is the most common, and would provide me with the greatest variety of number of teeth combinations? I suspect something like 190mm.

I'm going to send my current model back, and re-invest (possibly in the Bosch Professional range). All my power tools are Bosch, and I've started investing in their "one battery fits all" 18v range, so would prefer not to switch brands.

The saw will ultimately be used to cut plywood sheets, as I'm building some cabinets for my garage. So for clean cuts I think I need 40+ teeth. Happy to be corrected!

I don't have a table saw (maybe one day). So a good versatile circular saw will have to suffice for the time being.

Thanks for any advice.

Graeme

Hello and welcome. I read that you're Bosch PKS 18V takes 165mmx20 bore x 18 tooth,
It would be best to contact the makers or suppliers to see what other Bosch blades are available.
They do make lots of different blades and of several different types.
There's a link below, There are several at around 24 tooth onwards, 40, and 60 tooth blades for cheap money.