Chain and Chisel morticer/mortiser

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tom MasterCraftsman

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, im new this is my first post, after regularly reading posts for help and advice thought its about time i joined up,

I've been setting up a workshop and could really do with a better morticer, i currently have a old cooksley cast iron morticer but could do with something bigger and quicker.

I've only ever used a fixed chisel morticer in workshops I've worked in and portable chain morticers for oak timber frames,

I have no experience with the large chain and chisel morticers and wos looking for advice on purchasing one, there seems to be a few to chose from eg wadkin, Robinson, dominion, has anyone here used any of these machines?

Thanks Tom

I have an old cast iron monster of a hollow chisel motiser. Mine was made by Naula AB here in Finland but most brands are pretty similar in the way they work. I don't think it will make much of a difference whether you end up with a Sagar or Robinson or Wadkin or Jonsered or whatever high end brand you might find. Any old heavily built hollow chisel mortiser of industrial quality should be just about as good. Just look for one that has a nice mechanical fit everywhere and is in good condition.

Please don't do the misstake I did and end up with a factory prototype that during the post war shortages somehow found it's way onto the market despite some rather severe manufacturing flaws. I was able to correct all the flaws and got a very good morticer in the end but it was one hell of a job. I spent at lest two weeks worth of labour scraping cast iron. Now it works the way it should and I like it a lot but I can assure you that I used plenty of dirty language when I stood there scraping and filing to sort out those 65 years old manufacturing errors.