Cedar

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lurker

Le dullard de la commune
Reaction score
I have taken delivery (FOC) of a vanload of Cedar that was a conservatory.
Some are largish planks of 3X3 and 3X2
I have never handled any sizable Cedar before and was surprised how light it is.

So........ what can I do with it that utilises its properties.
Any suggestions?

I got a bit of the 3x2 that was quite damaged and ripped a few 9mm boards.
The initial wood is covered with (I guess) salodin wood treatment, but one peice had a nice rippled grain under the crud, the other was plain as plain.
I plan to make a small box out of these and just leave it untreated so the smell becomes a feature.
I may cut some more the same and just put them loose in our clothes drawers to deter moths.
Other that sharpening pencils I have no experience of using cedar so Questions:

Does it glue?
Is planing a option (tear out)

lurker":14w4ytk7 said:
Other that sharpening pencils I have no experience of using cedar so Questions:

Does it glue?
Is planing a option (tear out)

Cedar both glues and planes a treat. I make drawer bottoms from 8mm Cedar of Lebanon, here you can see it both edge jointed and planed,
Drawer-Bottom-Surfacing.jpg

Edge-Shooting,-8mm-Drawer-Bottom-(2).jpg

Cedar's a bit too light for highly stressed or load bearing furniture components like legs or chairs, but it's a superb choice for other applications like box making .

Attachments

• Drawer-Bottom-Surfacing.jpg
    Drawer-Bottom-Surfacing.jpg
    81.5 KB · Views: 178
  • Edge-Shooting,-8mm-Drawer-Bottom-(2).jpg
    Edge-Shooting,-8mm-Drawer-Bottom-(2).jpg
    72.7 KB · Views: 178
I made quite a few coopered bird boxes out of it they had a segmented roof that needed to be long grain for the gluing. I found it dry and dusty and the smell whilst pleasent at first gave me a terrible headache after a few days!