Buying Waney/Live edge slabs in the south.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joel4mo

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

Long time lurker, first time poster. Im a carpenter in the Herts area, mainly building fitted furniture. Work will slow onwards and over xmas which gives me time to play with my own projects.

I can't post links being new to the site but I am working towards something like Greg Klassens Coffee Table No 2. If you haven't seen his work, check him out, his river tables are beautiful. I often have shaped, tempered glass made for my business projects so have no issue there but I am struggling to find suitable live edge material of the project in the South of the country.

I have found quite a lot of 2" seasoned oak/maple that would suit but it is all up North. Before I do a day trip around all the businesses i have found, anyone shed any light on timber nearer to me in Herts/North London? I was going to collect these: ebay item: 192013700692 but he only has one left and i can't justify the trip for one.

TIA

I'd wholeheartedly agree with a trip to see Kevin at Surrey Timbers, an aladdins cave for slabs!

I would "Yes And" the vote for Yandles. The only reason I say that is that I visited their Spring show for the very first time this year after succumbing to the hype for donkeys years. To say their wood shed blew me away is an understatement! In fact if I could simply move my bed into the shed I would happily live there for the rest of eternity!