Bookshelf - With pics this time (sorry!)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tierney

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a newbie with more tools then skill and here is my first project post.

My 3yr old son is moving room to make way for a new arrival, so to ‘sell’ the move to him I decided to build a bookshelf for all his stuff.

I think a recent FWW on how to build bookshelves was my primary reference. I spent quite a while fiddling around on SketchUp before settling on a design. Initially I was thinking of a simple MDF affair; but am happy to say that I pursued with something more challenging.

The carcass is still 18mm MDF, 15mm plywood for shelves, with softwood (spruce?) used for lipping, faceframe and one piece of the carcass.

Total Cost:
MDF - Free (I had a 6*4 piece lying around)
Spruce - £2 (had a few spare floor boards already)
Ply - £5 (Merchant Grade offcuts at local merchant)
Paint - £20 (1ltr of Primer, 1ltr of Farrow & Ball eggshell)
Brush - £7
Router Cutter - £30 (Beading cutter from Trend)
Total - £64

Dimensions are: 1200mm H * 960mm W * 340mm D

Sorry the WIP pictures aren’t great

Here is the carcass with the face frame applied. Carcass construction is four pieces of MDF; the top and bottom shelf are set into rebates in the sides and glued and screwed. The back is 9mm MDF again glued into a rebate in the sides. Finally there is one piece of 6*1 as a batton at the back below the bottom shelf, which I used to give some additional strength to the structure.

DSCF1308Rotated.jpg

DSCF1312Rotated.jpg

The face frame is 1” softwood beaded on a router table and joined with mortise and tenon joints, mitred at the moulded part (I didn’t get the mitres as tight as I would have liked, but I’ve convinced myself it is because I rushed them!)

DSCF1309.jpg