Advice wanted from cabinet makers

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andersonec

Established Member
Reaction score
I want to do a cabinet making course which runs for ten weeks, one evening a week, 30 hours in total. There is no syllabus as it is a course for all grades of experience.
I want to pick a project to do which would involve most of the cabinet making skills, maybe even some curved work so I want to pick your brains to see if you have any ideas of something nice I could make over this period which would include lots of skills, amount of difficulty wouldn't be a problem as I am not a total beginner, any pictures would be good and appreciated.

With thanks.
Andy

How about something like
ALB-05-C3-4.JPG
but with a draw as well.

This is give you experience in not just making doors but curved ones as well as curved draw fronts. Dovetails if you choose for the draw. Wood turning. A few different joints. Curved/shaped feet. Researching sizes of bottles to make the best sized hole. Cutting large holes.

And at the end you can celebrate by drinking what tipple you fill it with!!

Nice one, just the sort of thing to get stuck into, I will definitely take a picture with me and see what the instructor say's.

It is at Newark College and he says he has guy's come from Nottingham.

Thanks.
Andy

agreed - that's a fine challenge I think. Flat forms and rectilinear is actually quite easy, but this will push the boundaries a bit. Whatever you do, as soon as you stray from straight lines everything gets more 'interesting'. Well done for challenging yourself, and take a tricky one on, why not. Plus, do report back :wink: .

That's a great looking piece of furniture!

Andy - good luck with the course. Can you advise of its formal title, as it sounds great,. I was wondering if it might be held in other colleges too?