Wood recycling

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Steliz

Camberwell Carrot
Reaction score
Hi,

I don't know if this subject has been covered as the search function doesn't seem to work for me.

I am a beginner woodworker and I have a limited space workshop (shed) and hand held tools only and I have been considering recycling old/broken hardwood furniture to make smaller items but I don't know if this is a good idea.
For example, someone near me was offering a sheesham wood sideboard for next to nothing. It has a chunky top which is rough sawn in a 'rustic' style. The finish has to be removed which could be done through a thicknesser (once I buy one) but will the varnish/oil clog up the blades or damage the machine? Also, I spotted some mahogany on ebay near me but a lot of it has varnish on (disassembled furniture).

Is it worth the effort to try and clean this up and re-use it?

yes it's worth it, get an old handplane and devote it to stock clean up i.e. removing finish. you can make it a scrub plane, if you really want to do it with power tools buy a second hand power plane.
don't waste your time with a thicknesser, learn to do it with hand tools first.
take a trip along to walton lea and have a chat with them about what they do with recycled furniture.

Of course reusing old wood is a good idea - most of my projects have been done that way. It's a terrible waste to skip or burn good wood.
Over the years I have made two beds, several bookcases, boxes, tables etc.
In the projects section I've written up a Victorian convertible chair/steps, a small chest of drawers and a Japanese style box, which all started with reclaimed wood. And I don't own a planer/thicknesser.

Don't hesitate!