which table saw should i go for

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yanansi

Reaction score
hi all
i am new to woodworking and need a table saw after christmas. after looking around i got three option in my mind. i am not sure which is suit me best. BTW my budget is aound 500quid.
1. Bosch GTS 10 £528.40+shipping at axminster
2. matika 2704 £461.78+shipping at axminster
3. trion workcentre2000+trion circle saw aound £400+shipping

i set my workshop in a single garage so space and mobility is my first concern.

thanks

What size is your garage. I am also in a single garage about 9'6" wide. I managed to fit a cast iron cabinet saw in quite easily. It is on a mobile base so I can move it out of the way if I need more space.

The biggest downside IMO with the saws you have mentioned (not sure about the triton) is that they have brush motors, Very noisy.

I would recommend going for a more substatial machine with a cast iron table and an induction motor.

I have the SIP 10" cast iron model. You can get it for about £450-£500. (I seem to be reccomending this alot recently)

Do a search , as this topic has been covered numerous times before.

i have to say my choice would definitely be the triton. a well tried and well made design. the table saw function has greater capaicity than the others and the dust collection has been addressed. using the triton saw allows great accuracy with angle adjustment this was a problem with normal saws. not to mention the cross cut function and using the saw as a portable. and also other functions using the router. the other two saws are well made and have certain ease of use advantages but not the capacities and versatility. it must cost more than £400 i think.

as usual to throw the cat amongst the pigeons

why a table saw, what are you going to cut??
do you need to cut wide panels, or what are you going to do.