Sayerlack Paint

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tonyx

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to forum and trying to seek some advice,

i'm new to painting wood and searched the forum and read posts relating to Sayerlack paints so i read up some info and decided to go this route as i would like to achieve a high gloss finish that will last, but none mention what i have,
I am using
1/. (Primer) TU148013 Sayerlack Long Pot-life High Build White Polyurethane Primer with TH793 Sayerlack Fast Primer Hardener & DT1150 Sayerlack Fast Thinner
2/. (Topcoat) TZ99**F Sayerlack Coloured Polyurethane Topcoat with TH720 Sayerlack "Non Yellowing" Hardener and DT1146 Sayerlack Retarder Thinner,

Has anyone tried this paint system ? as any advice most welcome,

I read other posts on the net and most seem to say use a not so high quality spray gun for the primer, i have just finished primer and found i had lots of overspray and hence waisted paint and lots to clean up, i think i would use my Devilbiss HVLP set to 3 bar next time as the paint mixed is very smooth and thin.

Sorry i did not mention it is for a sideboard i have made to match a coffee table made from scratch out of soft wood and hardwood ply
I already made a coffee table and used spray paint from B&Q, i liked the colour but could not get the finish i wanted, but however the wife liked it and now won't let me have it back to do it a bit nicer first time ever building anything from my own idea or even with wood,

Tonyx

I use sayerlack waterbased and find it very good.

I dont know about PU, but I imagine its pretty good. You want full PPE if you are spraying this at home as I should think it is isocynate based.

PU is generally quite easy to spray, it flows nicely and dries quickly.

What size nozzle setup are you using? -I would guess 1.4 or 1.6 is fine for pu.

Hi,