Bowl of Hope - for critique

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skeetoids

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Folks,

Ash, 90mm x 100mm, turned, scorched, sanded, turned again, stained then polished.

Photos my usual standard ( :( ) and they really don't do this piece justice, but enough disclaimers:

DSC00482.jpg

DSC00484.jpg

DSC00483.jpg

Skeets - I know how it feels when no-one replies. I'm no expert, so I shouldn't be commenting really, but I think your photo's are, as you say, not doing it justice. Appears to be left quite heavy inside, though I think it's just the camera angle. Looks like detail part of the way down, but difficult to make out. Nice bit of colour in there though, and I like the overall shape.

We need the experts to look at it :-k

If you take several shots of it from different angles, use natural daylight if you can rather than flash unless you have a light tent or decent lights. With something like this that has a high gloss, flash distorts it so we can't see the object clearly as LW says . As I said elsewhere, I am amazed at your progress in such a short time, especially your design thinking and it is worth getting the photos right so that we can all appreciate your work properly.

pete

I'm no expert either Lee,but perhaps if you explain the thinking behind this piece it might help us understand what you were trying to achieve :?:
Re- the piccys, this was the point i was trying to get across when a piece is put up for critique.
I think the photos should be of a decent quality so we or the experts can give a proper critique about the piece.
As for the piece itself Lee i have been looking at it since you posted it,and trying to understand what it is you have done but haven't fathomed it out which is why i have made no comment on it.