Wood, brass and amethyst inlay cast in epoxy resin

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BradyS

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post work projects. But it seems the logical place.

This is my first such post, so I'll write a short intro about how I got into woodworking and what I actually do.

I'm a complicated breed of star gazing and pragmatism, having attended humanities, arts and social sciences altogether. You could say I'm a polymath but I'm not completely sure that is accurate. I am an artist at heart, my mind is shaped for sciences but the studies I graduated are humanities because at that time I was lazy. So for the last 15 years I've been a linguist and a technical translator (yes, in English).

Working with wood has always been a passion. As a kid I spent a lot of time at the countryside. One of our neighbours was a carpenter and I'd go there and stay with him mesmerized by the wonder of wood transformation. Then, my dad's youngest brother opened up the first private furniture factory in post-communist Romania. It sounds more pompous than it actually is. The factory with all facilities occupied about 2 hectares. They were taking in wood logs and process everything up to furniture for the end user.

I learned a lot there. But I was a child. I forgot a lot as well. About 5 years ago, I realized I wouldn't be able to work much more as a translator, it gradually became too consuming. It was the time when the internet started to be flooded with epoxy resin thingies. River tables mostly. That somehow relit my passion in this direction. It was then when I decided my professional reconversion.