What plane do I need?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pietrach

Reaction score
Hi
I am very new to wood working and as per my previous post I am trying to make a picture frame as my first project, and learning curve at the same time.
I want to avoid buying a lot of equipment which I THINK I need, so I decided to start making the frame with no equipment and see what I need. So far I got myself a square, a tenon saw, and chisel. However, the problem I am facing is how to get the grain end perpendicular to the long grain? If I simply use a hand saw it rarely comes out square. I looked some advice and I think I will need a shooting board and a plane. I can make a shooting board, but what plane do I need? I read that for grain end I will need a shallow angle block plane. But then loads of people use 45deg plane for grain end.

What plane will work best for grain end on shooting board? It would be ideal if I could get a 45deg one to work, as I could then use it for planning other sides as well.

Also please recommend a cheaper, but still decent alternative to Stanley. I am a hobbyist and looking and was looking at Faithfull and Silverline. Are these any good?

Buy a used but good (old) Stanley or Record. There are just so many on Ebay. You've just got to avoid the ones with issues.

Forget Faithful and Silverline, watch your local car boots and markets for a second hand Record or Stanley No. 4 or 5 (4 1/2 or 5 1/2 would be fine). Many would say the 5 or 5 1/2 is a better choice if you've only one. You can easily make a shooting board, but picture frames are the stuff of nightmares - they seem easy but they're not. I'd find something easier to practice on.

silverline and faithfull are at the poor end of the quality spectrum

If I was starting again the first plane I'd buy would be a block plane
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/IRWIN-RECORD- ... 2a4ee3cb0a