Pane sole Flattening

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mr edd

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I have just picked up a old Stanley No8 C with 2 patent dates 1902 or something (so type 10 ?) and rosewood handles from a song and its a beaut!

The sole of the plane is really quite concave and having never flattened the sole on anything larger than a No 5 I was wondering if anyone had any advice regarding this task,

I know many will say that hand scraping the sole is more accurate and easier, but I am a joiner not a engineer and what maybe easy to you seems like a minefield to me.

I also appreciate some will say I do not need to flatten the sole at all but I appear to lack the magic touch to achieve acceptable jointing results on a plane without a flat sole.

I had a length of kitchen worktop left over from a job which a couple of years ago was surprisingly flat (checked with a starrett straight edge and silver Rizzla paper.........so technical stuff!) on which I placed a piece of 10mm float glass, it is supported by some kitchen base units left over from another job. But it has started to sag and I don't want to ruin a cracking plane.

I also need a new laptop as it had a hissy fit and posted my question before I had finished typing.

What I wanted to add was any advise on how to build a solid flattening/lapping workstation or how you have gone about achieving yours would be amazing.

I looked at large granite surface plates but the cost is prohibitive (not to mention the depth and width increase with length) and there is talk of supporting them on the reference support points they were factory tested on, a little out of my depth of comprehension and budget.

Cheers

Edd

A piece of 10mm float glass on a slab of 25mm MDF should do it I'd think.