New member with some questions

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D7Pyro

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, my name is Mike.

Me and my little family have moved to our forever home and looking to turn our single garage into a workshop. (5.5m x 2.5m)

I've got alot of hand tools inherited from my previous job and gradually building elsewhere. Picked up a decent size compressor and hoping to pick up some tools for it soon.

Main things I will use it for is workshop for car maintenance and bit of restomods here and there (cars are in car port), plus general home DIY.

My grandfather has left me his machine shop, but I'm unsure how much of it to take on with the premise that I might use it very occasionally. Available is a vertical mill, lathe, surface grinder, large pillar drill and bandsaw saw along with numerous other tools. He was a toolmaker by trade so there's numerous attachments, hand and measuring tools. Far more than I'll never know what to do with. I do have some experience with the machines having grown up with them, plus I did some work with Mills and Lathes during my apprenticeship. By no means an expert!

If you had to pick between the milling machine or lathe which way would you go? Should I just stick to bandsaw and pillar drill as a general workshop? What other machines/tools should I look to pick up; I'm thinking a decent size press is high on my list?

If you've got this far, thank you! And thanks in advance for any advice :)

Attachments

• 20240201_113647.jpg
    20240201_113647.jpg
    4.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 20221106_122203.jpg
    20221106_122203.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
  • 20221106_122146.jpg
    20221106_122146.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • 20221106_122252.jpg
    20221106_122252.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 0