MFT and Rail Square - my thoughts

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Molynoox

Established Member
Reaction score
As a novice who has just dived into the world of MFT, I thought it might be interesting for me to share my experiences with my first go at it. It's my first attempt at building and using an MFT and a rail square. I wish I knew at the start what I now know and perhaps I can save others a bit of time if they are on the same trajectory and also thinking about investing in an MFT setup.

I have spent about 4 or 5 weekends with the setup, making workshop cabinets/benches. I have a sort of 'build thread' on it so won't go into any more detail.

What can it do
  • It makes square cuts, quickly and accurately
  • With some accessories it can also eliminate the need for marking up
  • It can help you assemble things square
  • Note: making >200mm cuts needs a different method to <200mm cuts (see below for more on this) but both can be done

For context, here is my current setup:
IMG_20230325_182642.jpg

Here is my setup before I built my benches:
IMG_20230205_122116.jpg

Important note on my setup
I do NOT have a hinge for my rail. I am reliant on using the dogs to align the rail and the workpiece at 90 degrees to one another. Many of the constraints listed below are specific to my setup and could perhaps be solved (or reduced) with a hinged rail.

What can't it do (without a hinged rail)
  • A standard 718mm deep MFT cannot be used to cut anything wider than about 550mm as you need a long dog at top and bottom of workpiece (to support the rail) which reduces the usable width of the table by about 150mm
  • In my experience that is quite a restriction for the stuff I am building as pretty much every cut is wider than 500mm.