Metabo bas 318

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ant1

Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to this so please bare with me.
I am thinking of purchasing a small bandsaw around the £500 Mark, The metabo bas 318 was a top consideration along with either record or axminster of similar sizes.
An insight into the 318 would be much appreciated if anyone could help as I seem to be going around in circles online!!
Thanks

Ant

Welcome to the Forum.

Do a search on "Tool Review" I am sure something will come up, but saying that most on here, including myself have a Record Power Bandsaw and find them to be amongst the best value for money above the BS300 series, they can be obtained for around your budget especially if you can get to a show where they seem to offer a good discount with free delivery.

Mike

Hi Mike,
Thanks for your reply, have you had any problems with guide bearings as I have read a few reviews reporting problems with these.
I will have a look in reviews.

Ant

I have made threads here before about the Elektra beckum BAS 315.
I believe its the same machine as the Metabo 316
One of those was making new guides for it, and another making a mobile base for it.

If its the same as the 315 the whole fence system its a super pain in the rear end!...
You have to remove the rail for the fence to change a blade, you need to have a socket handy (with two different heads)
and a square for checking it when its back in place (it does move while off the table) and a big screwdriver for opening the cabinets
After all that.... the fence that took ages to set up, deflects an awful amount
I must make handles on it one day.

For £500 quid you could get a super solid nice used machine for much better value....
Cast iron wheels, decent powered motor, rack and pinion adjustment that can have a solid system for affixing the