Limitations of my lathe.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

niall Y

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to working with a metal-lathe, And apart from distant memories from schooldays, I've had little opportunity, until recently, to get hands on experience.
Yesterday, I tried to carry out , what should have been a simple operation. Which was to take a whisker off the inside of an 18mm diameter, brass tube, to allow me to form a couple of 5mm wide rings, which could then be slipped over some thinner tube and be silver-soldered on. All this to help fabricate some whistle, tuning-slides, I am working on.
The first problem I encountered ,was in setting up the tube in the 4-jaw chuck. Up until now I usually do this by eye referenced off the cutter in the tool post. Though in the interest of accuracy for this particular job, I used a dial gauge. Well, that was an education! I gradually homed in on getting it perfectly centred when, as I was turning the chuck, I heard a slight knock and the needle lurched wildly. There is obviously something wrong with the bearing. The bearing problem isn't obvious. If you hold the chuck and try and move it ,it appears rock solid. It's only when you revolve it by hand that you hear the knock - and it's only a very intermittent knocking,
Undeterred. I then set up the boring bar and proceeded with the cut, The first few mm into the cut were OK, but then it stopped cutting. It became apparent that the cutter was pushing the stock out of the way and not cutting. All I was getting was a tapered shoulder part-way into the tube.