home made router table question, and an introduction

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

karfeef

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all! My name is Harry, from Liverpool. I'm extremely new to woodworking and am currently sourcing tools, ideas and inspiration.

One of the things I want to try first is a self built router table.

I've found some free plans for a table I like the look of which uses ¾" ply for the table top, with 2 sheets of hard board glued to it, and then some plastic sheet to complete the sandwich...

There is then a recess cut in, with a lip to accommodate inserts..

My question is about attaching the router. With a fairly thick top, would one need to cut any kind of recess underneath to allow the attached router and bit to protrude far enough through the hole or is it ok sitting flush on the underside?

Ignore my question :-D

Just re read the plans and totally forgot the fact that the router is attached to the insert! Doh!

Sent from my GT-I9300

Welcome to the forum.

You might want to consider thickening the top, particularly if you have a beefy router on it. A couple of sheets of MDF would prevent the top sagging, although I am not sure what the plastic thickness is.

You could use a sheet of 12mm for the top piece, would would be the cutout for the insert to res on. The chances are that it will be a couple of mm too deep, but some grub screws will allow you to correct this and adjust the plate so that it is perfectly level. save having to cut. Another alternative is to use a piece of kitchen worktop.

There are many alternatives for router table tops- and there is no right answer. Dont be afraid to ask when you get stuck, even if it sounds a daft question.

Agree ^^^ I would add another layer of ply to keep the top nice and stiff. That is unless you are using bracing under the top?