DeWalt Table FLip saw smoke & troubles !

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andyb350z

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, just joined the forum, im new to wood working, always enjoyed doing round the house DIY and building stuff but i would like to get a little more involved in the fine art.

I have a dewalt dw743n flip saw, however when i want to rip wood sheets into lengths, i seem to fill the garage with smoke to the point i have to hit stop and leave till it clears. The saw also seems to struggle a bit when pushing wood through, a 2metre rib of hard board can take 5mins+ yet on the youtube videos people seem to throw them through in 10 seconds !

Before i head off and buy a new blade, can anyone advise me where im going wrong, or if infact it is jsut the blade ?

Can anyone reccomend what spec blade i would be best buying, with it been a flip saw obviosuly i want to use it for all types of cutting / ripping, mainly pine, timber etc ?

Kindest regards
Andy

Does indeed sound like you need a new blade. Well at least 2 - one for rip. One for cross cutting as a mitre saw.

Thanks for the quick reply, very much appreciated

Would you reccomend buying a Dewalt blade, as i have seen some CraftPro blades on Ebay for 19.99, where the dewalt ones are nearly £50, is there going to be much difference in quality do you know ?

Is the blade in the right way round? Craft pro blades ore ok, I use them in my plunge saw. £13, can't go wrong.

There will be a difference. Better blades cut better/ smoother. I normally try to use freud blades. Good quality at reasonable prices :)

Phone Doug at Cutting Solutions 01353 968711 (www.cutting-solutions.co.uk ). That way he'll be able to recommend the right blades for what you're doing. The blades I have bought from him have been very cheap and excellent quality.

Andyb350z, welcome to the Forum.